“A number of these industry-supported schemes have been in place for some time and have been effective in lifting the level of information available about product conformity and monitoring the performance of some product sectors. However, it should not be interpreted that they are endorsed by government or that all products in a particular category will be participating in the schemes identified.”

– APCC, Procurement of construction products – A guide to achieving compliance

Conformity assessment schemes

Mandatory product certification schemes

Watermark is a mandatory certification scheme which provides a nationally consistent, risk based certification scheme for ensuring the quality of certain materials and products used in plumbing and drainage installations.

Voluntary industry conformity assessment schemes

Voluntary industry product certification schemes provide another conformity assessment pathway available to industry. Certification or membership of an industry scheme may be appropriate as evidence of product conformity, where for example the industry scheme is accredited by JAS-ANZ, NATA or conforms to the recommendations of SA HB 18.60-2005 Conformity assessment—Code of good practice. This handbook is identical to ISO/IEC Guide 60:2004 and supports conformity assessment “characterized by openness, transparency, impartiality, confidentiality, coherence and effectiveness”.

The Australasian Procurement and Construction Council (APCC) guide, Procurement of construction products – A guide to achieving compliance, provides an overview of the conformity assessment schemes available in the different product sectors. The following is a list of JAS-ANZ or NATA accredited industry conformity assessment schemes. Refer to the individual scheme rules for the scope of the certification provided.

Australasian Certification Authority for Reinforcing and Structural Steels (ACRS)

Australian Window Association (AWA)

Engineered Wood Products Association of Australasia (EWPAA)

Scroll Up